The simple baroque castle was built around 1785 by the father of Ferenc Deák. On October 17, 1803 the “wise man of the country” was born here, which is commemorated by a white marble plaque placed at the entrance of the house in 1897. In honor of the 200th anniversary of Ferenc Deák’s birth, his birthplace in Söjtör was completely reconstructed as a historical monument. With its painted walls and reconstructed kitchen, reminiscent of the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries, the sturdy building, built around 1770, is a unique testimony to the lifestyle of the nobility of Zala. The upper rooms are enriched by furniture from the 18th and 19th centuries, a chamber exhibition shows the influence of the Nádasdy Mausoleum and the literacy of the nobility. In one room on the first floor there is an exhibition entitled “The Memory of the Deák Family and Ferenc Deák”, in another “The Farmers of Zala”.